Thijs Ice

An early predecessor of Tom Puss was Thijs IJs (Thijs Ice). This comic appeared between 1934 and 1938 in the newspapers of the ‘Provinciale Pers’ and 52 stories were made. Thijs Ice began as a continuation of Rupert Bear, which appeared in these newspapers until March 1934. They asked a young Marten Toonder to make a similar comic. It became a polar bear, which was introduces as a distant cousin of Rupert Bear.

The comic was made by Toonder, his wife and his brother. Marten made the sketches. His wife Phiny Dick made the actual drawings en his brother Jan Gerhard Toonder made the captions.

In these stories, situations and characters appear which reappear in the Tom Puss comics. An important subordinate character, oom Brom (uncle Growl), makes you think of sir Humle, with his kind-hearted grumpiness.

From March 23, 1934 Thijs Ice appeared in het Nieuwsblad van het Noorden, De Provinciale Overijsselsche en Zwolsche Courant, Haarlems Dagblad en het Leids Dagblad. In these papers a translated version of Rupert the Bear appeared from November 1929 . In March 1934 it was replaced by his distant cousin Thijs Ice. There are up to 1938, 1406 episodes spread over 52 stories published.

List of Thijs Icestories

01. Thijs IJs en de schat op de maan, 56 episodes
02. Thijs IJs en de onzichtbare prins, 16 episodes
03. Thijs IJs en de gedienstige geest, 24 episodes
04. Thijs IJs en de booze heks, 40 episodes
05. Thijs IJs en de kwade slang, 16 episodes
06. Thijs IJs en de winterkoning, 24 episodes
07. Thijs IJs en de verloren sleutel, 37 episodes
08. Thijs IJs en het geheimzinnige eiland, 38 episodes
09. Thijs IJs en het dal der nevels, 28 episodes
10. Thijs IJs en de kongingskroon, 31 episodes

11. Thijs IJs en de kabouter Pirimijs, 12 episodes
12. Thijs IJs en de kwade buurman, 12 episodes
13. Thijs IJs en de dikke hertog, 40 episodes
14. Thijs IJs en de woeste vampyr, 30 episodes
15. Thijs IJs en de diamant van Makebijs, 20 episodes
16. Thijs IJs als poesenredder, 12 episodes
17. Thijs IJs verovert het waterpaleis, 24 episodes
18. Thijs IJs zit in de knel, 23 episodes
19. Thijs IJs en het geheim van den hollen boom, 30 episodes
20. Thijs IJs in het betoverde woud, 26 episodes

21. Thijs IJs bestrijdt de reuzen van Pakkijs, 30 episodes
22. Thijs IJs strekt op tegen het kattenleger, 23 episodes
23. Thijs IJs krijgt een huisgenoot, 26 episodes
24. Thijs IJs en Dickie Dons in de wolken, 32 episodes
25. De taart van Thijs IJs en Dickie Dons,10 episodes
26. Thijs IJs helpt de spinnende prinses, 23 episodes
27. Thijs IJs en de drie draden van Slechtbedeeld, 43 episodes
28. Thijs IJs vindt den verloren armband, 17 episodes
29. Thijs IJs komt te hulp, 16 episodes
30. Thijs IJs en het hanenei, 31 episodes

31. Thijs IJs en de booze kabouter, 15 episodes
32. Thijs IJs en de brullende berg, 23 episodes
33. Thijs IJs en het verdwenen Noorderlicht, 43 episodes
34. Thijs IJs en de booze dooi, 25 episodes
35. Thijs IJs en de slimme dieven, 43 episodes
36. Thijs IJs zoekt Dickie Dons, 23 episodes
37. Thijs IJs en de tooverspiegel, 51 episodes
38. Thijs IJs en de betooverde eend, 15 episodes
39. Thijs IJs op de ‘Taaie Haai’, 44 episodes
40. Dickie Dons gaat op avontuur, 24 episodes

41. Thijs IJs en de drie dwergen, 42 episodes
42. Oom Brom gaat uit rijden, 16 episodes
43. Dickie Dons en de toovervisch, 17 episodes
44. Thijs IJs en de woudreus, 32 episodes
45. Thijs IJs en de toverpijp, 16 episodes
46. Thijs IJs op weg naar huis, 20 episodes
47. Thijs IJs en de vreemde vulkanen, 41 episodes
48. Thijs IJs en de tooverslangen, 30 episodes
49. Dickie Dons en het wonderboekje, 30 episodes
50. Thijs IJs en de gouden appels, 24 episodes

51. Oom Brom wordt vermist, 12 episodes
52. Thijs IJs en het verdronken land, 29 episodes