Hillbilly Bears

This cartoon originally appeared in 1965 as part of the Atom Ant Show, and later became part of the Banana Splits Hour. The show was centred around a family of dirt-poor country bears; The Rugg Family, let by the inimitable Paw Rugg, who communicated mostly by mumbling. The other members of the Rugg family were Maw Rugg, little Shag Rugg and beautiful Floral Rugg.

The series made its debut on October 2, 1965 and lasted two seasons. With 20 episodes in the first season and 6 in the second season.

Hillbilly Bears Cast

Paw RuggHenry Corden
Maw RuggJean VanderPyl
Shag RuggDon Messick
Floral RuggJean VanderPyl


1st season
1. Woodpecked
2. Goldilocks & The Four Bears
3. Detour For Sure
4. Stranger Than Fiction
5. Anglers Aweigh
6. Going Going Gone Gopher
7. Courtin’ Disaster
8. Picnic Panicked
9. Judo Kudos
10. Just Plane Around
11. War Games
12. Bricker Brats
13. Slap Happy Grandpappy
14. Do The Bear
15. Pooped Pops
16. Leaky Creek
17. My Fair Hillbilly
18. Rickety-Rockety-Raccoon
19. Modern Inconvenience
20. Rabbit Rumble

2nd season
1. Speckled Heckler
2. Whirly Bear
3. Saucy Saucers
4. Chipper Chirper
5. Getting ‘Paws ‘Goat
6. Buzzin ‘Cuzzins